Virginia Third DUI Offense Lawyer
Virginia Third DUI Offense Lawyer
It’s well known that the court doesn’t take the third DUI offense well. It’s incredibly nerve-racking when you come up to that third charge when it feels like the entire world is against you, especially when the system is. However, expert attorney David Deane knows how to calm you down and support you during this difficult time.
It’s essential to contact our firm right away to find out more information. Just give us a call so our law office can schedule a consultation that’s completely free of cost. In addition, contacting us is crucial if you’re dealing with a third offense.
A DUI Defense Attorney Can Help
The events that led up to a charge like this are unique to each case. Because of this, it’s vital to find a defense attorney who can develop a unique strategy to help combat your case. You get a personalized approach when you work with a team of lawyers willing to put all their resources together that make up a private law firm on your case.
This page provides all the information you need to know when you’ve just had your third DUI charge in the state of Virginia. It’s possible to take an even closer look at what you’re going up against when you call us for a free consultation.
Third DUI Penalties in the State of Virginia
The penalties weighed on individuals who get their third DUI in Virginia are nothing less than serious. It’s something that requires your full attention. It’s a felony once you’ve reached your third offense, so the consequences of getting convicted can last a lifetime. While it’s important to note that no two cases are similar, the following will give you an idea of what will happen once you finally reach that third offense.
- You’ll spend at least six months in a jail
- You will lose your driver’s license
- You’ll pay a minimum fine of $1,000
- They will take away your vehicle
Remember that the driver’s license revocation is indefinite on your third offense in the state of Virginia. Therefore, as time goes by, you can get your license reinstated if you petition the court. However, it’s important to note that there’s no guarantee your license will be reinstated.
You may be forced to use an ignition interlock device in your car once your petition is successful. This device makes you take a breath test before starting your vehicle. The device also limits where you can drive from.
Common DUI Defenses
Even if you’re looking at your third charge, there are several different defenses that your lawyer can argue on your behalf. Some of them are:
- Making an argument against the stop and the sobriety test taken at a roadside
- Arguing against the results brought by the BAC test
- Creating an argument of alternative theories against the perceived impairment
It’s Time to Fight the Charges
If you are found guilty of a first DUI, the penalties are laid out in Virginia law as follows:
- Ignition Interlock requirement in some instances
- Mandatory jail time for certain blood alcohol levels
- Increased insurance premiums
- A required one-year driver’s license suspension
- A mandatory alcohol education class
- Up to $2,500 in fines
- Up to one year in jail
These are just the administrative and legal consequences that can arise from a first DUI conviction. On top of this, you may have to deal with additional stress in your professional and personal life. Some people may be forced out of their job after being charged with a DUI offense. A competent Virginia DUI lawyer is ready and willing to assist you in getting the best outcome and significantly reduce your anguish and stress. In addition, they can be your representative in court to ensure your rights and interests are safe.
The third offense of a DUI is taken extremely seriously in Virginia. A felony can destroy your life as it profoundly affects your personal and professional reputation. You may find it challenging to find employment and struggle to maintain it. The housing may also be an issue, along with many other things.
When you’re coming up against these felonies, you’ll need a strong legal defense to fight in court. Having a strong legal defense will help keep this impact on your future at a minimum.
Be sure to contact David Deane Law if you have been charged with a third DUI offense to learn how we can help you to build the strongest legal defense possible.